craCRA RELEASE: Some of the biggest names in Australian radio will battle it out for Best On-Air Team at this year’s Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) with finalists announced today including The Hamish and Andy Show (Fox FM Melbourne), Merrick and Rosso and Kate Ritchie (Nova 969, Sydney); Nova 100’s Hughesy and Kate (Nova 100, Melbourne), Meshel, Ash, Kip and Luttsy from Nova 106.9 in Brisbane and the Kyle and Jackie O Show (2Day FM, Sydney). All these on-air teams were announced as finalists today for the 2009 Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) with last year’s winners, Hamish and Andy.

The well-known on-air teams will join many of Australia’s radio personalities and talking heads from across metropolitan, regional and country stations as finalists in the 21st annual ACRAs, with the winners to be announced at a gala ceremony at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre in Sydney on October 10.

Another hotly contested category this year is Best Talk Presenter. Finalists include the winner for the past three years, Neil Mitchell (3AW) as well as Derryn Hinch (3AW), Ray Hadley (2GB) and Leon Byner (5AA, Adelaide). The Best Current Affairs Commentator category will be decided between last year’s winner, Derryn Hinch (3AW) along with Neil Mitchell (3AW), Ray Hadley (2GB), and Howard Sattler (6PR in Perth).

Last year’s winner for Best Music Personality, Mike Fitzpatrick (Triple M, Melbourne) will battle it out with other finalists Dylan Lewis (Nova 100, Melbourne), Dave Higgins (Fox FM, Melbourne), Rod Maldon (Fox FM Melbourne), and Jamie Row (Nova 969, Sydney).

The winner of Best Sports Presenter last year, Ray Hadley (2GB, Sydney) is again a finalist in this category with Rex Hunt (3AW), Andrew Martin (Nova 969 Sydney), James Brayshaw (Triple M Melbourne) and Rabs Ray Warren (Triple M, Sydney).

Finalists in the Best Newcomer On-Air category include Sonia Kruger (Mix 106.5, Sydney), Mark Levy (2GB), Ryan Shelton (Nova 100, Melbourne) and Michael Slater (2KY, Sydney).
Australian Idol host, Andrew G, who also hosts Australia’s biggest weekly radio countdown, “Take 40 Australia”, will again MC this year’s event, for the second year in a row. Andrew G began his career in radio at B105 in Brisbane and then SAFM in Adelaide, before moving to television with Channel V.

Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said there had been an increase in the number of entries for this year’s Awards:“The Awards are highly competitive and set a new standard every year. The diversity of winners over the past few years highlights the depth of radio in Australia – and this year will be no exception with a myriad of talent on commercial radio throughout the country,” Ms Warner said.

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 32 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs differ from television’s Logie Awards, in that they are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.