Media release: A diverse list of programs, producers and presenters were today announced as finalists in the 2008 ABC Local Radio Awards. Established in 2001, the ABC Local Radio Awards recognise and celebrate the talent and dedication of ABC Local Radio staff who deliver entertaining radio to local communities around Australia.

Open to broadcasters and producers from the nine metropolitan and 51 regional ABC Local Radio stations across the country, the categories recognise individual and station excellence and include metropolitan and regional broadcaster and station of the year, sports & rural broadcasting and website production, as well as coverage of significant local community events and outside broadcasts. A full list of categories and 2008 finalists is attached.

Director of ABC Radio & Regional Content Sue Howard, part of the Awards judging panel, said she was impressed with both the quality and commitment evident in the entries this year.

“Each year the Awards highlight the energy and creativity of the Local Radio network across the country, and our continuing commitment to audiences. And pleasingly, the list includes both seasoned nominees and an encouraging number of new names and activities.”

“My congratulations go to all finalists and I wish them every success,” Ms Howard said.

The winners of the 2008 ABC Local Radio Awards will be announced in Sydney on Thursday 1 May at a ceremony hosted by ABC1’s New Inventors presenter James O’Loghlin.

The Awards are complemented by a two-day Forum for finalists & ABC Local Radio delegates to discuss a range of topics including future directions of the ABC over the next five years, building strong local communities and maintaining creativity and energy in the work environment.
Full list of finalist