Australian Idol co-host, Andrew G, who also hosts Australia’s biggest weekly radio countdown, “Take 40 Australia”, will MC this year’s Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs), which will be held at Conrad Jupiters on the Gold Coast on October 11.Andrew G, began his career in radio at B105 in Brisbane and then SAFM in Adelaide, before moving to television with Channel V.


This year is the 20th year of the ACRAs, which has become a highlight of the radio industry’s annual calendar and attracts radio personalities and stars from around Australia.

Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said there had been a strong response to this year’s event, with the most popular categories including Best On-Air Team and Best News Presenter as well as Best Station Produced Comedy Segment.

“Entries have increased across all major networks compared to last year with considerable growth in the number of entries for Best Music Special and Best Show Producer – Entertainment and Music – a new category introduced last year,” Ms Warner said.

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 32 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs differ from television’s Logie Awards, in that they are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.

This year there is one new category – Best Multimedia Execution, which has been introduced to recognise innovative multimedia campaigns which involve listeners, using a website and podcasts, mobile phones or other multimedia applications.

Winners from last year’s Awards include well-known radio personalities, 2DayFM’s Kyle Sandilands and Jackie O; Neil Mitchell from Melbourne’s 3AW morning program; Dylan Lewis from Nova in Melbourne and Jabba from NOVA 969 in Sydney.

The Gold Coast is always well-represented at the Awards with seven national awards (provincial) won by Gold Coast radio stations last year.

Ms Warner said a feature of the Awards is the Hall of Fame, which acknowledges a lifelong commitment to the Australian radio industry. Last year, two industry giants, Neil Mitchell from Melbourne’s 3AW and Greg Smith, a pioneer of FM Radio, were inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame.
Other previous inductees have included Frank Hyde, Rod Muir, John Laws, Bob Rogers and Paul Thompson.  Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry colleagues and decided by a high level judging committee. [/html]