Ray Hadley has taken over from his 2GB stablemate Alan Jones in being crowned Best Current Affairs Commentator at the Australian Commercial Radio Awards.Hadley was presented with the award at the annual ceremony, this year hosted by British comedian John Cleese, at Sydney’s Luna Park.

It brought to an end Jones’ dominance in the category after the veteran broadcaster decided not to nominate for the award this year.

Hadley was also on hand to induct former rugby league caller Frank Hyde into the Hall of Fame.

Another 2GB staffer, Rowan Barker, was presented with best metropolitan AM news reader, while Monique Dews from Sydney’s Nova 969 was voted best metropolitan FM reader.

Jennifer Menchin from 2BS Gold in Bathurst was voted best country newsreader, while Rod McLeod from the Gold Coast’s Golf FM was best provincial.

Best talk presenter in a metropolitan market went to Melbourne’s Neil Mitchell on 3AW, while Alice Spring’s 8HA host Matt Conlan was best country talk presenter and John MacKenzie was best in a provincial area.

Best metropolitan music personality went to another Sydney DJ in Nova 969’s Bianca Dye.

Lynne Haynes from the NSW Central Coast’s Star 1045 won the provincial division while Matthew O’Reilly from Sea FM in Maryborough Queensland won the country category.

Best metropolitan newcomer on-air was former AFL player turned Big Brother contestant Ryan Fitzgerald of Nova 919 in Adelaide.

Michael Etheridge for western Sydney’s The Edge was best provincial and Louise Poole from Gem FM in Inverell was the best on-air newcomer in a country area.

Australian Idol host Kyle Sandilands and his co-host Jackie O were voted the best on-air team in the metropolitan market for the Kyle and Jackie O show.

The duo were also awarded the best networked program for their Hour of Power show distributed through the Austereo network.